EU removes all airlines from Indonesia from blacklist

The European Commission Thursday published an update of the EU Air Safety list and cleared all air carriers from Indonesia from the list.

All Indonesian carriers were put on the EU Air Safety List in 2007 due to safety concerns. Over the past years, a small number (7 in total) were removed, but the bulk of Indonesian carriers remained on the list until today, noted a press release by the EU’s executive body.

EU Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc commented that “I am particularly glad that after years of work, we are today able to clear all air carriers from Indonesia. It shows that hard work and close cooperation pay off.” Following today’s update, a total of 119 airlines are banned from EU skies.

These include 114 airlines certified in 15 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.

Moreover, five individual airlines also remain on the EU’s blacklist: Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

Moreover, Eurocontrol from today is deploying a new system to prevent unsafe aircraft from entering European airspace.

Since November 2016, any non-European aircraft that enters the Union needs to have a single safety authorisation valid throughout Europe called “third country operator authorisation” or TCO.

The new system will alarm the Air Traffic Controllers of all Members States that an aircraft which does not have such an authorisation is trying to fly to the Union. The aircraft will then be denied access to the airspace of that Member State.

The Brussels-based EUROCONTROL is an intergovernmental organisation that helps its Member States run safe traffic operations throughout the European region.

Source: Kuwait News Agency