EU sanctions 7 Myanmar officials for abusing Rohingya

The European Union (EU) Foreign Affairs Council Monday placed seven individuals under sanctions in light of the situation in Myanmar (Burma). The sanctions consist of an asset freeze and a travel ban.

The individuals subject to sanctions are Myanmar army (Tatmadaw), border guard and police officials, listed because of their involvement in, or association with atrocities and serious human rights violations committed against the Rohingya population in Rakhine State during the second half of 2017, said the Council which is meeting in Luxembourg today.

The violations include unlawful killings, sexual violence and the systematic burning of Rohingya houses and buildings, it noted.

The Council called upon the government of Myanmar and the security forces to ensure that security, the rule of law and accountability prevail in the Southeast Asian nation, including in Rakhine, Kachin and Shan States.

The EU will monitor the situation in Myanmar closely, and will keep its decision under constant review, including the possibility of further targeted sanctions, it added.

Source: Kuwait News Agency