European Council appoints new European Commission

BRUSSELS, The European Council, which is made up of the 28-EU leaders, Thursday appointed by written procedure the new European Commission for the period from 1 December 2019 to 31 October 2024.

The new President of the Commission will be Ursula von der Leyen (Germany), while the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy will be Josep Borrell (Spain), who will also be one of the Vice-Presidents of the Commission, said the Council in a statement.

This follows the approval by the European Parliament of the EU?’s new executive body on Wednesday.

Source: Kuwait News Agency