New Indian government under PM Modi takes oath of office

NEW DELHI, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and members of his government took oath of office Thursday in front of President Ram Nath Kovind. In a statement, the Prime Minister’s Office said: “Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister of India, marking the start of his second term as the prime minister.

“The Honorable President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.” Modi, 68, and 58 ministers of his Cabinet including Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah took the oath in the presence of around 8,000 eminent personalities including heads of several neighboring countries.

President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Nepal Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli, President of Myanmar U Win Myint, Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering, Kyrgyz President Sooronbay Jeenbekov, Mauritius PM Pravind Kumar Jugnauth and Thailand’s Special Envoy Grisada Boonrach are among the foreign dignitaries present in New Delhi to attend the oath taking ceremony.

Several Indian political leaders including opposition Congress party President Rahul Gandhi, United Progressive Alliance Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, representatives from the Bollywood business leaders and well wishers were also present on the occasion.

The Indian President had earlier asked Modi to form the new government after his right-wing BJP led National Democratic Alliance bagged a thumping majority in the just concluded Parliamentary Elections.

Source: Kuwait News Agency