Sudan announces forming new gov’t

KHARTOUM, Sudan’s Prime Minister Mohammad Taher Ela declared on Wednesday the formation of a new government including 21 ministers and 18 ministers of state.

Speaking in a news conference, Ela said the new government would work on increasing production in the industrial and agricultural fields, and maintaining food security and creating more jobs for youth.

The ‘government of competencies’ contains most of those who had portfolios in the former cabinet, while ministers of oil, finance, interior and information have been replaced.

Meanwhile, calls for civil disobedience launched by the Sudanese Professionals’ Association (SPA) found a partial response, local media said.

Several institutions, firms and shops were closed in a number of areas in response to the calls for civil disobedience, it added. On February 22, President Omar al-Bashir announced a state of emergency across the country for one year and the dissolution of the central government. He has taken some measures to deal with protests, which have been staging by thousands of people since December 19.

The government said that about 33 people were killed and over 800 others arrested in the protests. However, the opposition said more than 50 people were killed and over 1000 were detained.

Source: Kuwait News Agency